Maths, English, English Literature, Reading Comprehension tutor in Hackney and Newham

Sam C.

location_on Hackney and Newham, England

£ 22 / hour

  • ID & DBS Verified

Young Experienced Tutor in English and Maths

Hi there! I'm Sam. I'm an English graduate living in London. I was born in South Africa and raised by two teachers, both specialising in specific learning disabilities. Growing up in such an environment made it a natural step for me to steer my career path towards education. Aside from education, I have various other interests, all of which bear some relation to the arts. In particular I have a keen interest in art, history, philosophy and foreign languages. Having just finished my degree in English, I'm spending my time in London saving money for a TEFL qualification so I can work in Italy (the native language of which I am learning), before travelling and working in East Asia. After travelling I aim to take a masters in Critical Theory, before doing a PGCE and working in the UK.

Education

UniversityCourseQualification
Queen Mary: University of LondonEnglishBA with First Class Hons

Tutoring Experience

I have worked for Lindamood-Bell both part-time and full-time since July 2017. At the centre I work with students 1-to-1 on reading and comprehension to a university level, and mathematics up to GCSE level. Students are very varied in their needs. They can be any age. Most have one or several learning or behavioural difficulties, however there are many who attend simply to improve their skills in a given area. Lessons last up to one hour. They can be in-centre or online and as a tutor I tend to give between 4 and 6 lessons a day. As such I have extensive experience in a 1:1 tutoring environment. Previous to Lindamood-Bell I also worked at Explore Learning for 3 months, tutoring up to 6 children between 4 and 14 at a time, in both English and Maths.

Reviews

star_ratestar_ratestar_ratestar_ratestar_rate

(1 review)

Have any questions?

Check our FAQ page or contact us.

Contact us