Science, Biology, Health And Social Care, Medicine, Neuroscience, Piano, Physiology, Biochemistry, Biomedical Science, University Admissions, University Advice tutor in Westminster

Alistair G.

location_on Westminster, England

£ 25 / hour

  • Also tutors online
  • ID & DBS Verified

4th year medical student offering GCSE or A level science tutoring, as well as medical admissions advice and support

Hi there! My name is Alistair Gregg and I am a fourth year medical student at Barts and The London School of Medicine, currently studying for a BSc in immunology and infectious disease at Imperial College London. I have a real passion for science and medicine, and I am keen to pass this on! I have previous experience working as an academic tutor and piano teacher with young adults, and I am committed to planning and delivering engaging and varied sessions. I am a friendly, approachable and patient individual, and I understand the importance of a personalised approach to study. I am available to tutor all exam boards, and I would also be keen to offer advice on university and medical school admissions, including the UKCAT and BMAT. I am DBS checked with the NHS, and I am available to work flexibly across evenings, weekends and school holidays! In my spare time I am a keen musician (grade 8 piano and clarinet) and sportsman, representing my university 1st XV rugby team.

Education

UniversityCourseQualification
Queen Mary University of LondonMedicine MBBS
Imperial College LondonImmunology BSc

Tutoring Experience (50 hours taught)

I am a registered teacher for two medical education societies at university, which has given me practice in preparing and delivering content at undergraduate degree level. This has included one-to-one tutoring as well as large group teaching sessions to over 80 people. I believe it is important to apply knowledge rather than just to acquire facts. This is the approach I have taken with my medical studies, and I believe it enables me to understand course content thoroughly. I also believe it is interesting and worthwhile to read outside of boundaries of the course syllabus, and I could recommend wider reading that would help to reinforce important knowledge. I am keen to set goals and objectives at the start of every session, but also to establish what the tutee is hoping to get out of the tutoring experience as a whole. I also take time to understand the learning style of the individual, and I am able to prepare and deliver sessions in a way that caters for this.

Reviews

star_ratestar_ratestar_ratestar_ratestar_rate

(1 review)

Have any questions?

Check our FAQ page or contact us.

Contact us